Who is West Central Iowa Solid Waste?

Recycling West Central IA Solid WasteThe Association is a combined jurisdiction of the local governments and a sanitary disposal area involved in a comprehensive plan. A comprehensive plan is a course of action developed and established cooperatively between members of the planning area regarding their solid waste management system.

The Association is one of 13 agencies in Iowa that are Environmental Management Systems (EMS) focused on continuous improvements in 6 areas:

  • Education
  • Greenhouse Gas
  • Hazardous Waste
  • Recycling
  • Water Quality
  • Yard Waste Management

Each year Objectives and Targets (Goal and Outcomes) are set in each area and reviewed frequently for progress. Click here for the Association's current Objectives and Targets.

Members of the West Central Iowa Solid Waste Management Association include: All cities and the unincorporated area in Carroll County; the Cities of Jolley, Lake City, Rinard, and Yetter, and the unincorporated area in Calhoun County; all cities and the unincorporated area in Crawford County; all cities and the unincorporated area in Shelby County; all cities and the unincorporated areas of Guthrie County, excluding the cities of Casey, Menlo, and Stuart; the Cities of Avoca and Minden and 170 specific waste generating sources located in the rural area adjacent to the City of Avoca in Pottawattamie County, the City of Adair in Adair County; the Cities of Exira and Brayton in Audubon County; and the City of Fonda in Pocahontas County.

Permitted disposal facilities in Iowa are not allowed to accept waste from outside the designated Planning Area. Each ton of solid waste landfilled in Iowa is assessed a fee that is required to be sent to the Iowa Department of Natural Resources.